cultivate.eat.sustain

@cultivEat

Good gracious, is there lead in my fine china?

Grist

Send your question to Umbra!

Q.My mom passed along the set of dishes that my grandmother hand-carried home from China, back when she and my grandfather were among the very first U.S. tourists to travel there in the early ’70s. And they’re beautiful, with colorful glazed patterns. The trouble is, the glazes all contain lead. (I checked.) I’d rather not just dump them as household hazardous waste, but I certainly don’t want to give them away to someone who might unknowingly use them for food. Any suggestions? I’m not about to take up pique assiette myself, but I suppose I could find someone who does it.

Diana F.
Portland, Ore.

A. Dearest Diana,

We’ve all heard the saying about gift horses and mouths. In your case, I’d like to propose an addendum: “Unless that horse is china set that could be coated in lead.” You were wise to check…

View original post 423 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2014 by in food justice, food + ag politics, Toxic Ingrediets.
